The Finest Lines

A very interesting read from author Morgan Smith.

Traveling Light


Lately, the big thing in fantasy writer advice blogs and articles is about not stereotyping.

It’s always been a trenchant criticism – writers, especially writers new to writing, tend to add in cardboard cut-outs, rather than fully fleshed-out people. It’s almost unavoidable with very minor characters (innkeepers as fat slobs with no brains to speak of; prostitutes with hearts of gold; bribable city guardsmen; the list goes on) but, as we are all aware, unforgivable for those constructs who play more than a one-liner, walk-on role.

And that’s as it should be, because it’s lazy. Even for those peripheral characters that exist only to get the protagonist a hot meal or hide her from the villain in some squalid back room, it’s pretty boring. You know what? An innkeeper could be lean and hungry, prostitutes occasionally are unfeeling, and at least some soldiers have more morals than an alley-cat.


View original post 298 more words

Author: Aaron-Michael Hall

Aaron-Michael Hall is a native of southern Illinois. She was born and raised just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, Mo. After moving about the country, she has returned to her roots and where this journey began. When she was younger, Aaron-Michael would get lost in the fantasy and sci-fi worlds created by Andre Norton, N.K. Jemisin, R.A. Salvatore, Octavia Butler, Ursula K Le Guin, and R. Scott Bakker. Being from a large family, Aaron-Michael would often steal away high in a tree or nearby wood seeking solitude. While enjoying the peace her natural surrounding provided, she created her own worlds and languages. For hours, she would be lost in the magnificence of her own imagination. Some characters and elements created then are used now in her current series. The Rise of Nazil is the first novel in the trilogy of the same name from this new author. It is an intelligent and intriguing read with a host of characters. Seed of Scorn (book 2) and Piercing the Darkness (book 3) complete The Rise of Nazil trilogy and are all available on Amazon. When asked why she wrote this series, Aaron-Michael simply said, “It needed to be written.” Blood of Oisin is the title of the first novel in The Shifter trilogy that releases February 2017. It is her hope that the readers enjoy the wonders of Faélondul even more than she enjoyed writing about them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s