Author Interview – Mackenzie Flohr

16684872_1313696542002169_1123684344_nAuthor Spotlight
Mackenzie Flohr

Thank you for taking the time to sit down and talk with me tonight. Can you begin by telling me a little bit about yourself?

Thank you for the invitation! I’m happy to be here. My name is Mackenzie Flohr and I am a fantasy author through BHC Press.

  1. Have you always wanted to be an author?

I have always dreamed of writing a book and being an author, but seeing it actually get published? That part I wasn’t sure would ever happen. It’s one thing to start a book, but it’s another thing to actually finish it!

My parents nurtured a love for the creative arts from a very young age. From the time I could hold a pencil, I was already creating pictorial interpretations of classic stories, and by the age of nine, a childhood friend and I were authors and reviewers of our own picture books.

  1. What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to write a fantasy of my own, one that could inspire imagination in others and lead them into a magical world of their own making.

  1. What genre(s) do you write?

I write fantasy and soon will be tackling the sci-fi/horror genres.

  1. What is the name of your latest novel?

The Rite of Wands. It’s the first in a new YA fantasy series, coming out on March 10th in both paperback and eBook. It will appeal to fans of The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and even Doctor Who (specifically fans of the eleventh Doctor)

16731019_1313696615335495_318096750_nIs there a short excerpt of your current book that you would like to share?

One boy…one Rite… And a world of deadly secrets that could change the course of history—forever

 And so begins the tale of Mierta McKinnon. When a horrible fate reveals itself during his Rite of Wands ceremony, he must find a way to change not only his destiny but also the land of Iverna’s.

 Forbidden from revealing the future he foresees to anyone, he is granted a wand and his magical powers, but still must master the realm of magic in order to save himself and those he loves.

 But Mierta is not the only one with secrets…especially when it’s impossible to know who to trust.

  1. How did you come up with the concept for your novel?

I wouldn’t say I came up with anything, it more like came to me! When I’m traveling, I often stare at road signs to see if I will come across any names that just kind of jump out at me, and this one particular sign did more than just that. It gave me a story!

wand_edited-1

  1. Who is your favorite character and why?

Mierta McKinnon. He is a “discovery” character. Most of the time I have no idea what he is going to do in a scene, which makes writing his scenes fun and exciting! Plus without his character, there would be no Rite of Wands.

  1. Who is your least favorite character and why?

Queen Anya. I have a hate/love relationship with her character honestly. I was actually inspired by Glenn Close’s Marquise de Merteuil in the 1989 film Dangerous Liaisons. I wanted to create a character who be successful in manipulation like she was, and I believe I have that. But why she’s my least favorite character? Probably because I cannot get through a scene between her and Mierta without them flirting with each other, which is wrong, wrong wrong!!!

  1. Which character do you relate to the most and why?

Overall, I’d say I would relate best to Mierta and Orlynd. I’m like a mix of them honestly.

Like Orlynd, I was also an outcast growing up. I had to endure bullying, beatings, and verbal abuse from not only kids, but adults, too, from elementary school up till when I graduated from college, just because of how I dressed, looked, etc, so I really sympathize with his character.

And then like Mierta, I also wanted to please my parents and do the right thing, yet I often felt uncertain and alone. I’m also eccentric, and have this crazy amount of energy, which takes me forever to get rid of. It’s one of the reasons why I’m a chronic insomniac because I cannot get my mind to shut off!

  1. Is there a certain message (s) that you desire your readers to grasp?

Our lives are not set in stone. It can all change in a heartbeat. The key is not what we do, but how we choose to react to whatever the situation is.

  1. Who are a few of your favorite authors?

J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling, Christopher Paolini, and Michael Ende

  1. What author would you love to have a conversation with?

Can I pick two? It would definitely have to be J.K. Rowling and J.R.R Tolkien.

  1. Any future writing projects you would like to talk about?

I am working on the beginnings of a short story to hopefully be included in upcoming an anthology. I am also beginning to work on another series, which is going to be a futuristic science-fiction horror. The series revolves around a teenage man who is living in an advanced medical facility in Area 51 and is suffering from amnesia. And I’m brain storming for the second book in The Rite of Wands series!

  1. Are there any future events you would like to announce?

Yes. I will be appearing on the SciFan webinar through Author Assist on facebook on March 5th. I will also be appearing at B2BCYCON in April, which I’m very excited about. Also in April, I will be a guest on ArtistFirst Radio Network on April 14. And if you’re anywhere near the state of Michigan, I will be signing copies of The Rite of Wands at the Ann Arbor Book Festival Street Fair in June!

  1. Do you have a favorite quote from one of your novels?

“East Indians used slugs to numb gums, but it often led to parasites that crawled from your stomach to your brain, which tended to kill the subject.” – Mierta – The Rite of Wands.

  1. Do you have any advice for up and coming authors?

Don’t give up, and if someone tells you can’t do something, don’t believe it. As one of my dear friends has said, sometimes in order for something to happen, you have to give to the universe, and the universe in turn, gives back.

  1. Do you have any links that you would like to share?

You can follow me at: Website,  WordPress,  FacebookTwitter, or  Goodreads.

My Publisher’s Page15941295_1185472728240005_174881961011296551_n

Thank you for taking the time to sit down and chat with me. I am looking forward to the release of The Rite of Wands. Great Success!

Author: Aaron-Michael Hall

Aaron-Michael Hall is a native of southern Illinois. She was born and raised just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, Mo. After moving about the country, she has returned to her roots and where this journey began. When she was younger, Aaron-Michael would get lost in the fantasy and sci-fi worlds created by Andre Norton, N.K. Jemisin, R.A. Salvatore, Octavia Butler, Ursula K Le Guin, and R. Scott Bakker. Being from a large family, Aaron-Michael would often steal away high in a tree or nearby wood seeking solitude. While enjoying the peace her natural surrounding provided, she created her own worlds and languages. For hours, she would be lost in the magnificence of her own imagination. Some characters and elements created then are used now in her current series. The Rise of Nazil is the first novel in the trilogy of the same name from this new author. It is an intelligent and intriguing read with a host of characters. Seed of Scorn (book 2) and Piercing the Darkness (book 3) complete The Rise of Nazil trilogy and are all available on Amazon. When asked why she wrote this series, Aaron-Michael simply said, “It needed to be written.” Blood of Oisin is the title of the first novel in The Shifter trilogy that releases February 2017. It is her hope that the readers enjoy the wonders of Faélondul even more than she enjoyed writing about them.

1 thought on “Author Interview – Mackenzie Flohr”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s