The Art of Worldbuilding: A beginning.

Interesting read from a great Epic Fantasy author and friend.

The Thousand Scar's Muse

Well, the art of writing stuff for my blog has diminished somewhat in the past week or so. It’s not writer’s block at all, I have plenty of ideas for the blog. It’s more…motivation? That would be it. You see, I’m focusing so much on my time on getting Counterbalance ready, it’s kind of killed all other trains of thought. I cannot have that, so here I am. This article I have been writing for almost a month, and it’s progression has been painfully slow: the art of worldbuilding.

To make worlds, you need to build them. Now, there are two main ways of doing this, what we call architect and gardening. And apparently in the current times, there is a third approach called the tourist. There is no right or wrong way of worldbuilding I might add. You can use whatever approach you like, whether it’s one or all…

View original post 2,590 more words

Author: Aaron-Michael Hall

Aaron-Michael Hall is a native of southern Illinois. She was born and raised just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, Mo. After moving about the country, she has returned to her roots and where this journey began. When she was younger, Aaron-Michael would get lost in the fantasy and sci-fi worlds created by Andre Norton, N.K. Jemisin, R.A. Salvatore, Octavia Butler, Ursula K Le Guin, and R. Scott Bakker. Being from a large family, Aaron-Michael would often steal away high in a tree or nearby wood seeking solitude. While enjoying the peace her natural surrounding provided, she created her own worlds and languages. For hours, she would be lost in the magnificence of her own imagination. Some characters and elements created then are used now in her current series. The Rise of Nazil is the first novel in the trilogy of the same name from this new author. It is an intelligent and intriguing read with a host of characters. Seed of Scorn (book 2) and Piercing the Darkness (book 3) complete The Rise of Nazil trilogy and are all available on Amazon. When asked why she wrote this series, Aaron-Michael simply said, “It needed to be written.” Blood of Oisin is the title of the first novel in The Shifter trilogy that releases February 2017. It is her hope that the readers enjoy the wonders of Faélondul even more than she enjoyed writing about them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s